top of page
  • Writer's pictureBenny Wade Mouse

Renee Young's interview with Benny Mouse (Pt. 1)

(Editor’s Note: This is part one of Renne Young’s sit down interview with EWA Owner and Chairman of BWM Inc. Benny Mouse)

Renee Young: Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the official kickoff of the pre-opening day interview series, as first hyped on the World of Wrestling website earlier this summer. My name is Renee Young and I’m the Director of Commentary and Communications for the Elite Wrestling Alliance. My guest this afternoon is none other than the boss himself; please welcome EWA Owner and CEO of BWM Inc., Benny Wade Mouse!

Benny Mouse: Thank you, Renee, it’s a pleasure to finally get the chance to sit down for this interview, as you know things have been hectic as we rapidly approach our opening day PPV, Hell Hath No Fury. That being said, I am happy to take all your questions and to answer them as candidly as possible – nothing is off limits…

Renee Young: I’m going to hold you to that! [Laughs] As you’re aware, we are a mere 89 days out from the first ever all-female PPV in the history of this industry, which so happens to be how you’ve chosen to bring back the Elite Wrestling Alliance. You indicated earlier a willingness to modify the previously announced tournament bracket for that event, are we any closer to knowing what those modifications will entail?


Benny Mouse: Hell Hath No Fury is not only the first female PPV in the history of professional wrestling – it’s also the first time ever that all the matches on the show will feature no male superstars. As you well know by now, my commitment to shining a spotlight on the talented women on our roster is second to none. In the past that commitment has included the first ever Monday show to be headlined by two female athletes during the EWA’s first run over a decade ago. Now, that commitment has expanded to include a single night 12-Knockouts tournament to crown the Knockout’s Champion.


As for your question, yes, we are much closer to knowing the shape of that tournament bracket, which was preemptively announced but has since changed due to the ever-increasing pool of female talent on the EWA roster. The 11 announced Knockouts that will compete for the most coveted world championship amongst their gender are as follows: Nikki Bella, who along with her sister made a memorable first impression at From Dusk Til Dawn 3, Nikki Cross, Kelly Kelly, “Rowdy” Ronda Rousey, Naomi, Megan Mouse, Mickie James, Beth Phoenix, Natalya Neidhart, Charlotte Flair, and Torrie Wilson.


Renee Young: Presumably, the last spot has been left vacant in the event that Miss Athena Star accepts Rousey’s challenge following their altercation at HQ earlier this month?


Benny Mouse: That is correct. And before you can ask, I’ll go ahead and answer your next question. No, Athena has yet to respond to Rousey’s challenge. Out of respect for the longest reigning women’s champion of all time, I will leave this spot open in the event that she changes her mind about being involved. It would be a damn shame if the mistakes of my brother cost her the chance to partake in this historic event, but I suppose time will tell.


Renee Young: On the subject of your brother, what are your thoughts about the recent announcement on their growing female roster?


Benny Mouse: Listen, I’ve discussed the arbitrary roster number in the PWI at length, and I am of the mindset that quantity does not equate to quality. We have a roster size that is comparable by all logistics, but unlike Mickey and Catherine, I’m not going to split them up to do the “roster vs. roster” storyline that we’ve all seen done to death. I am happy for those who have been signed, don’t get me wrong, but we can all see where this is going and we’ve all seen the movie before and know how it ends.


Renee Young: So you believe that the female roster split in the PWI will lead to an inter-promotional war, as we’ve seen in the past?


Benny Mouse: Absolutely, and though I respect my niece and I’m willing to play nice with my brother, all I have to say is that this convoluted plot line does not move me. I understand that they want to feature the women on a level comparable to what we’re going to do up north, but there are better ways to do so than by signing a bunch of women, splitting them up, and creating tension when none really exists.

Renee Young: While we’re on the subject of Mickey, what do you think of the recently announced roulette tournament?


Benny Mouse: [Laughs] Now, talk about convoluted! I really have no thoughts on it, other than the fact that I personally do not think this tournament is anything special. He’s found a way to take our Money in the Bank concept and broaden it, while presenting it as an idea that is uniquely his. Now, that’s not new for my brother, as we’ve seen him steal Jeff Murrey’s trademarks with the USWA from the onset. One of the prizes is literally “boss for the day.” That is a prize I would hand to a toddler, not a professional wrestler…


Renee Young: What do you think about the previously announced battle for immunity that will pit women against men?


Benny Mouse: I personally think it’s a gross miscalculation of what the fans want to see. If my niece wanted to crown a female worker as immune, why not just introduce the concept for that division? Gone are the days where it’s acceptable to show male on female violence in a quest for higher ratings. I think it’s gross and indefensible, and for as progressive as Catherine can be, I find this to be a huge step backward.


Renee Young: Where are we on what comes after Hell Hath No Fury, in terms of introducing the rest of the roster?


Benny Mouse: When Revolution returns to television on January 13, we will crown the first EWA Champion of the new era, as well as the first X-Division and tag team champions. Additionally, we’ve announced the Money in the Bank match for the return of Revolution. Details will emerge as we draw closer, but we’ve got just under three months to go and I’d like to retain a little bit of mystery on the subject.


Renee Young: We saw recent announcements from the PWI on the progress they’ve made on securing shadow draft talent. Where is the EWA on their quest to do the same?


Benny Mouse: We’re making tremendous progress on fleshing out our roster to its full potential, which includes signing all of the previously announced superstars and even a few more that we’ve yet to hear of. My focus now is shifting from the women – which I’d say is about 95% full – to tag teams.


Renee Young: We’ve seen your brother make a series of outlandish offers in regards to the recent stock you’ve purchased. Can you talk a little more about the decision to purchase a significant interest in the PWI?


Benny Mouse: Smart money says to buy low and sell off high. We’ve seen stock prices down south fluctuate amidst the internal chaos, but things are starting to trend upwards again. I know that my brother has made a series of offers that I haven’t even entertained in the slightest. I have no interest in dumping my shares to Mickey now or in the future. I would, however, consider an offer from my niece. I had no malice when I bought the stock; it was just a smart investment.


(Pt. 2 will continue later this week)

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page