top of page
  • Writer's pictureBenny Wade Mouse

Benny Mouse addresses questions from the press

BWM Inc. Headquarters

Stamford, CT

July 20, 2020 -- 11:30 PM


BM = Benny Mouse


BM: Good evening, and I appreciate you all for assembling on such short notice. I also appreciate the fact that you all have been very patient in waiting for this press conference, as my intention was to hold it on Friday but I was instead forced to delay due to an announcement I plan to make momentarily. You see, contract negotiations for said announcement took longer to finalize, due to my normal lawyer coming down with COVID-19; and while I did not want to abandon his services, I was forced to bring in my personal lawyer to pick up where our BWM Inc. lawyer left off. That said, I am happy to report that my business lawyer is doing well, in spite of his recent diagnosis.


Now, before I address your questions, I need to reiterate my excitement for the season premiere of Revolution, which is now only two weeks away from tonight. We all know the card, and it's stacked -- as all EWA cards are -- but what you all do not know is that I have been hard at work in putting together something extra special for Monday, August 3.


On that night, immediately following Revolution, the EWA will again make history with the first ever episode of EWA: 24. Now, I know what you're thinking -- what am I talking about? Well, we know that fans have long since desired a peak behind the cameras, and that is what we will be doing! This broadcast will show what goes into the 24 hours prior to a show, and not just any show, but our season premiere. Revolution on August 3 promises to be one of the most exciting nights in wrestling history; the excitement has reached a fever pitch and I cannot wait to give our fans this added bonus. We're pulling back the curtain, and you'll see our stars in a way you've never seen before.


So, with that said, I am happy to now take your questions.


HBO Sports: One question that is on everyone's mind is the status of former HCW owner John Brown, as well as your wife, Molly Mouse. Can you give us an update on their conditions, and their futures with the company?


BM: I have not spoken with my wife since the birth of her and Mr. Brown's son in June, nor do I have plans to speak with her again until our divorce is finalized. I have been informed that though Brown agreed to our stipulation, Molly still retains he shares of the company and the two are still very much together. I hear that they're both at home on bedrest, but I can't confirm that. All that said, though Molly still has her shares, the stipulation Brown agreed to will be upheld. Molly still has a seat on the board, but has been absent from all meetings. If the divorce settlement goes the way I hope it goes, she and Brown will be out of my life forever. I expect that divorce to be finalized in the next few months. Next question.


ABC: What are your thoughts about the recent chaos in the PWI, including the prank that led to their abrupt ending to a recent press conference?


BM: You know, it's interesting, because Mr. Murrey said earlier this evening that me asking legitimate questions as a shareholder was somehow a ploy to goad him into a back and forth. I also spent a little time reviewing previous conferences, and realized that abrupt endings to have been a common occurrence throughout this entire era. I feel like these abrupt endings are nothing more than a ploy to get out of answering difficult questions.


CBS Sports: What about Mr. Murrey's comments tonight on the EWA's erratic scheduling during the first season?


BM: Look, I'm tired of answering that question. By now you all are very aware of my mental health decline during season one as a result of my collapsing family. I am not going to keep apologizing for that, and it's a tired line of attack from a company that is literally scrambling to compete with me, including all of the recent changes such as the announcement of the preseason, the unwillingness to commit to showing off their women's talent without me begging they step into modern times, and how Murrey has gone back and forth on his rankings system, if titles will be defended in this preseason, and more. Murrey attempts to bring me down as a way to overshadow his own shortcomings, and I understand why he does it. He does so because he is desperate for a victory, but that victory will not come on August 3.


CBS Sports: Are you guaranteeing a victory in two weeks? Is that what you're saying?


BM: I do not see us losing on August 3. I do not know how to make that more clear.


PBS: Do you expect the PWI to make any more changes to the preseason?


BM: What is this, a PWI press conference?! I just announced a historic, unprecedented peak behind the current with EWA: 24, yet you all just want to ask me about my competitors? This question also comes less than an hour after Murrey announced MORE changes to the preseason. To answer your question, I guess it depends on what I do, doesn't it? After all, these changes keep coming as the PWI's flailing to catch up to my product. Hey Murrey, I've hired a Spanish announce team to sit near ringside beginning in season two - want me to save you the trouble and send you my left over resumes for when you copy that idea?


NBC: We have been hearing rumors that Miss Athena Star, still injured, is looking to make a big announcement pertaining to her career on 4:20. Speculation is obviously running rampant. Can you shed some light on these rumors?


BM: I met with Miss Athena Star over the weekend and we discussed a lot of things, including her contract, which was only a one year deal as everyone knows she has contemplated taking a step back since From Dusk Til Dawn 3. We have yet to reach the terms of a new contract, though I am confident we will. I know Athena is feeling a certain way these days, but I am still very much of the mindset that Athena Star has many memorable moments ahead of her. I hope she recognizes her contributions to the women's wrestling movement, and sincerely believe it would not exist without her. I can tell you that Star will reunite with Jesse Hash on 4:20, and will open the show. We'll see what she has to say then.


Sports Illustrated: Will EWA: 24 be a regular broadcast moving forward?


BM: Depending on how the show is received, it is my hopes to have the series air after every season premiere. In other words, the next time it will broadcast will be following our season three premiere. I'll take one more question.


ESPN: How do you react to Murrey announcing that the cards of PWI Live will be surprises?


BM: Personally, I think such a move is bad for business, and is certainly antithetical to what Murrey claims he wants to do in beating the EWA. Murrey tries to belittle our success by saying we cannot get away with big matches and moments on every broadcast, but I disagree. Fans are expected to choose a preseason show over Revolution, when PWI's higher ups cannot even make up their minds on how they want to do it? First there would be no title matches, now there are "open challenges." Then, he said rankings would not be impacted, and now they will be. He is consistently a step behind us at every turn. Expecting fans to choose an unadvertised preseason show over the blockbuster Revolution - featuring Rousey challenging Moon for the Knockouts Championship, Olsen challenging Pac for the X-Division Championship, Splidder and Splinter against the Brothers Metal, CM Punk and Kofi Kingston in our first MITB Men's Qualifying match, and our main event EWA World Championship bout with Duxen vs Armageddon - is simply a bad business decision, in my opinion. But hey, what do I know, I'm only the man behind the most-watched wrestling promotion in the world!


Thank you all and have a good night; we'll talk again soon.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page